GTM-TNHWN3R Verification: 8022f68be7f2a759

Acquiring dual or multiple citizenship

Dual citizenship is the result of the interaction of the laws of two countries. People can become dual citizens automatically (normally by birth or marriage), or after successfully applying for the citizenship of another country.

When it comes to dual or multiple citizenship, the world is divided: there are countries whose laws allow their own citizens to acquire another citizenship without losing their present one. In contrast, other countries do not allow the acquisition or holding of another citizenship and the acquisition of another citizenship may lead to the loss of the present citizenship.

Therefore, the acquisition of a second citizenship is only legally possible for citizens of those countries which allow dual citizenship.

The following is an overview of citizenship laws in selected countries with regard to dual citizenship. The information is based on Aura's interpretation of citizenship legislation in the relevant countries.

Image by Ethan Wilkinson

Albania , Dominica  , Iraq , Mexico , Spain ,Armenia , Ecuador , Ireland , Moldova , Sri Lanka , Austria , Egypt , Israel , Montenegro ,St. Kitts and Nevis ,Australia , El Salvador , Italy , New Zealand , Sweden , Bangladesh , Fiji , Jordan , Pakistan , Switzerland , Belgium , Finland , Kenya , Peru , Syria , Brazil , France , Kosovo , Philippines , Thailand , Bulgaria , Germany , Latvia , Poland , Turkey , Canada , Georgia , Lebanon , Portugal , United Kingdom , Chile , Greece , Lithuania

Romania , United States of America , Colombia , Grenada , Luxembourg , Russia , Vietnam , Cyprus , Hungary , Macedonia , Serbia, Western Samoa , Denmark , Iceland , Malta , Slovenia


Countries That Don’t Recognize Dual Citizenship

This is a list of countries that do not recognize the law of second or dual nationality, and if any of their nationals has applied for second citizenship from other countries directly lose the first citizenship,


so if you are considering applying for second citizenship it is necessary to check the laws of your country.

Dual citizenship is a situation in which individuals are allowed to be citizens of two or more countries, also known as second citizenship. Passport holders have legal obligations as well as rights in countries of which they are nationals.

There are many countries that do not recognize dual citizenship.These countries are not confined to certain continents but exist all over the world, such as: Andorra, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belarus, Botswana, Bhutan, Oman, Malaysia and China. However, some States may provide exemptions or exceptions For example, in Azerbaijan, the President may offer dual citizenship to persons of particular interest to the Presidential Office.

In Congo, Djibouti, Cuba, Ethiopia, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Kuwait, Kazakhstan, Monaco, Singapore, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Nepal, Mozambique and Zimbabwe, one automatically loses citizenship when acquiring citizenship from another country, and in order for an individual to understand his or her eligibility for dual citizenship in a particular country, It is necessary to request information from the Embassy.

In countries that do not allow dual citizenship, a person must relinquish the nationality of one country to acquire the nationality of another country, but once a State has updated laws allowing dual nationality, anyone who has lost citizenship after acquiring the nationality of another country is allowed to apply for first nationality.

Countries that do not recognize dual citizenship are:

1- Andorra 2- Azerbaijan 3- Bahamas 4- Bahrain 5- Belarus 6- Botswana 7- Bhutan 8- China 9- Cuba 10- Congo 11- Djibouti 12- Ethiopia 13- Haiti 14- India 15- Indonesia 16- Iran 17- Japan 18- Kazakhstan 19- Kuwait 20- Kyrgyzstan 21- Laos 22- Macau 23- Malaysia 24- Marshall Islands 25- Micronesia 26- Monaco 27- Mongolia 28- Mozambique 29- Myanmar 30- Nepal 31- North Korea 32- Oman 33- Papua New Guinea 34- Qatar 35- San Marino 36- Saudi Arabia 37- Singapore 38- Slovakia 39- Solomon Islands 40- Swaziland 41- Tajikistan 42- Thailand 43- Tonga 44- Turkmenistan 45- Ukraine 46- Uzbekistan 47- United Arab Emirates 48- Venezuela 49- Vietnam 50- Yemen 51- Zimbabwe.

Hany Saad

Hany saad

Vice President


  • Aura Youtube
Martin Brian Aura


Wealth Manager


  • Aura contact
Aura Soution Company Limited



Managing Director